• $10.99
    Unit price per 
  • Save $1.99

Only 1 left!

UPC: 650076674010
Format: TAPE
Release Date: July 22, 2022
In stock items ship within 48 hours

1. Window Shopper
2. Kanal
3. Klick
4. Shining River Utah
5. Fell Naturell
6. Shrunken Head
7. Octopus
8. Dry Plants
9. Cat's Body



Leipzig, Germany band Onyon appeared quite suddenly earlier in 2022, with their eponymous debut cassette EP, co-released by German labels U-Bac & Flennen in January. Trouble In Mind was so enamored with the tape, that they signed the band right away, and have reissued the cassette in a much larger edition and in a (nearly) identical tape version. Hailing from the same scene as the fabulous Maraudeur, Onyon's synth-soaked racket on their debut pits synth vs. Guitar as they arc & dive-bomb around the rhythm section's stuttering pace. Some used to call that "herky-jerky", but this isn't that intricate or precise. Onyon's ragged magic lies in those imprecise recorded moments caused by excitement, fervor & feeling. The vocalists keep it cool, detached & monotone most times while singing about shrunken heads, nature, cats & someone forgetting to water their plants. While the whole affair has whiffs of Kleenex, X-Ray Spex, DEVO, Chrisma and the like, Onyon's debut also tips the hat to newer groups like the aforementioned Maraudeur, The Staches or The Cosmetics (but filtered thru a modern-day, urban-decay post-punk lens... that's a thing, right?), Keen heads will also hear some Sixties garage-band vibes filtering through, like The Index, The Seeds, or maybe an alternate universe VU if they were led by Nico instead of Lou? (Can you imagine?) Released in either yellow or pink cassette shells (randonmly inserted), Trouble In Mind is proud to bring a wider audience to this fantastic band, and eagerly await what comes next.

We Also Recommend