• $31.99
    Unit price per 
  • Save $12.99

Only 2 left!

UPC: 191402038910
Format: LP
Release Date: February 24, 2023
In stock items ship within 48 hours

Written and performed by Gruff Rhys for the award-winning independent movie The Almond and the Seahorse, this soundtrack is an encapsulation of what makes both the Welsh music icon and this film captivating and timeless.

The Super Furry Animals frontman has created a double album that reflects the charm, melancholy and poignancy of the Rebel Wilson and Charlotte Gainsbourg-starring feature; showcasing the easy warmth and beauty Rhys finds with a piano and guitar, weaved be- tween moving instrumental interludes and a handful of cosmic pop songs for good measure. Perhaps most reminiscent of the opus created by Badly Drawn Boy for the movie About A Boy, the record spans the breadth of Rhys’ songwriting talents.

Directed by BAFTA winner Celyn Jones (Six Minutes to Midnight) and BAFTA nominee Tom Stern, The Almond and the Seahorse is a funny, poignant, and moving story that follows the entwined experiences of two couples where one partner has survived traumatic brain injury and how it impacts their lives together. It is the second soundtrack Gruff Rhys has produced following his work on Set FireToThe Stars, the acclaimed semi-biographical drama based on the life of poet Dylan Thomas.

To celebrate the film’s release, a limited edition vinyl version of the OST will be pressed on transparent yellow vinyl and includes a film poster and foil numbered stamp.

Track Listing

  1. Skyward
  2. The Brain And The Body
  3. People Are Pissed
  4. Layer Upon Layer
  5. Orea
  6. Joe's Theme
  7. Sunshine And Laughter Ever After
  8. Variation With Strings
  9. Amen
  10. Low Cello
  11. Liberate Me From The Love Song
  12. Love Love Love
  13. I Want My Old Life Back
  14. Forest Waltz
  15. Dance All Your Shadows To Death
  16. Library To Kiss
  17. Staccato With Cello
  18. Small Talk
  19. Toni
  20. New Age But Good
  21. Fresh
  22. Arogldarth

We Also Recommend