• $22.99
    Unit price per 
  • Save $4.99

Only 2 left!

UPC: 850056058094
Format: LP
Release Date: March 1, 2024
In stock items ship within 48 hours

With his new album Y’Y (pronounced “eey-eh, eey-eh”), Amaro Freitas steps into a new realm of musical creation. A realm rooted in magic and possibility, and tempered by a sense of stewardship for the earth’s bounties.

Side A serves as an expression of connection to the earth and to the ancestors, paying homage to the forest and the rivers of Northern Brazil with both the music and the album title, Y’Y,  a word written in the Sateré Mawé dialect, an ancestral indigenous code that means water or river.  And by bringing to life lessons he learned in the Amazon about the incandescent power of enchanted spirits who intervene on behalf of the community in times of struggle.

On Side B, Y’Y shows the connections between the global Black avant-jazz community. Bringing together multi-instrumentalist Shabaka Hutchings, harpist Brandee Younger, bassist Aniel Someillan, guitarist Jeff Parker and drummer Hamid Drake, the music creates an artful conversation by weaving together jazz traditions from across the world, while staying rooted in the unique sounds and rituals found in Afro-Brazilian and Indigenous cultures.

Freitas continues to intwine ancestral knowledge into music on Y’Y by bringing his fresh, “decolonized” interpretation of Brazilian jazz and sharing music that may well shatter our preconceived notions of what jazz can be.

1. Mapinguari (Encantado da Mata)
2. Uiara (Encantada da Agua) - Vida e cura
3. Viva Naná
4. Dança dos Martelos
5. Sonho Ancestral
6. Y'Y
7. Mar de Cirandeiras
8. Gloriosa
9. Encantados

We Also Recommend