• $35.99
    Unit price per 
  • Save $2.99

Only 1 left!

UPC: 609461022417
Format: LP
Release Date: May 26, 2023
In stock items ship within 48 hours

“The crown prince of comedy.” That’s how Richard Pryor was introduced at The Redd Foxx Club—and how he was known throughout the world. Was he also a righteous fool? No doubt. Was he a king among kings? That, too. And did he sire generations to follow in his comedic dynasty? You’re goddamned right he did. “'Craps' (After Hours)” finds Pryor at perhaps his most carnal, deeply ruminating upon (when not absolutely enjoying) all the ways fleshly pursuits from fighting and fornicating to drinking and drugging distract us, destroy us, and make us utterly human. Along the way, we get classic Pryor character studies, from the men enjoying the stage that was a Saturday night police lineup to the unfailingly polite white clientele of the whorehouses in his childhood environs, fathers ready to defend their daughters’ long-since departed honor, preachers enlivened by their personal relationships with God, tricks plying their trade while lying through their teeth, and, of course, Wino & Junkie, those staples of the streetcorner. Perhaps the most astounding thing is realizing that, in 2023, not a moment of these records feels out of date or distant; it’s all right there, the troubles of our times, unfolding then as they unfold now. At least then we had Richard Pryor to guide us through.

We’ve teamed up with Omnivore Records and Richard Pryor’s production company Indigo to pack this double-deluxe vinyl release, “'Craps' (After Hours),” with delights aplenty: sides one and two are the original, but newly remastered classic album, recorded live at The Redd Foxx Club in Hollywood, CA; side three is bonus material selected from “Evolution/Revolution: The Early Years (1966-1974)” and “No Pryor Restraint: Life in Concert,” now on vinyl for the very first time; and side four is an engraving of the original cover art for “Craps.” We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again: Pryor himself would call this one a real wing-dang-doodle!


    Disc 1
    1. Gettin' High
    2. F**k From Memory
    3. Big Tits
    4. Gettin' Some
    5. The President
    6. Ass-Hole
    7. The Line-Up
    8. Masturbating
    9. Religion
    10. Black Preachers
    11. Being Born
    12. Blow Our Image
    13. Blackjack
    14. I Spy Cops
    15. Sugar Ray
    16. White Folks
    17. Indians
    18. Ass Wupin'
    19. Got A Dollar
    20. Pres' Black Baby
    21. Dope
    22. Wino Panthers
    23. After Hours
    24. 280 Pound Ass
    25. Crap Game
    26. Insurance Man
    27. Black And Proud
    28. Gettin' The Nut
    29. F**k The Faggot
    30. Jackin' Off
    31. Snappin' Pussy
    32. Fartin'
    Disc 2
    1. Whorehouse, Pt. 1
    2. Whorehouse, Pt. 2
    3. Wino & Junkie (Alternate Version)
    4. Attica (Behind Those Walls)

    We Also Recommend